WANTED YOUNG, BOLD, SLIM, TALL (5’6″ min) FEMALE SECRETARY – WHERE IS THE WORLD HEADING TO???

Hi All,

The pressures of my new employment coupled with my laziness kept me from doing any productive thing in the past few weeks and that included blogging too. Leaving aside all the “Hard worker” crap, I seriously hate staying late at my workplace. The pressures of “getting noticed by the management” and getting appreciated for how one “prefers” his or her office over personal life is so mounting in my new office that most of the people start doing their jobs only after 6:30 PM.

Apart from all these, the new office environment also gave me a chance to learn lot of new things and made me realize what I have not at all realized till now. All these, combined with some funny observations let me write this post.

Today, while casually waiting for the clock to turn 6 so that I could start doing my day’s work, (yes.. Haven’t you read the proverb, “Be a roman when you are in Rome”?) I was startled by the sound of my blackberry fondly intimating me that a new e-mail requires my attention. As always, I looked around to see if any one’s there around my cabin, (a bad habit developed during high-school and perfected during college as mobile phones are not allowed in schools and colleges those days) I clicked it open.

I found a mail from a famous job portal claiming to have listed out the suitable jobs for me. I find most of the job related mails that I receive to be hilarious. The same applies for the interview calls too. The Reason is I am a qualified Company Secretary who looks after the legal compliances of the company. But as I have the word “Secretary” attached to my qualification, 9 out of 10 mails I receive relates only to the “Personal Secretary” requirements. Initially, I used to get pissed off when I get interview calls for the post of Personal Secretary but now, I got so used to it that I reply even more politely and end the call. While reading the jobs listed, this one particular job caught my attention.

It read: WANTED FEMALE SECRETARY: YOUNG, BOLD, SLIM, TALL (MIN. 5’6” HEIGHT), PLEASING PERSONALITY, BROAD MINDED, MODERN OUTLOOK, SMART AND OUTGOING, MUST SEND PHOTO..

The Job for which the ad was posted is certainly not for a modeling agency. It’s for the job of a personal secretary to one Managing Director of some XYZ Company. (Who must be, by the way a balding bachelor in his mid 50’s). There was not even a single word that spoke of “Excellent Communication Skills”, “Ability to arrange meetings” which is usually the main requirements of a personal secretary in the heading.

At the look of it, it looked as if a Bollywood aspirant or an extra dancer could easily bag the job.

Yes it is true that this AD was very hilarious and gave me the much needed laughter for the day. But then, it also rang an alarm inside my head about the state of today’s society.  Where is the world heading to?

I very much agree that most of us love to be greeted every morning at our office by a pleasant smiling face. But why on earth would one require a minimum height of 5’6”? To pick up files from the top shelf as the MD himself is just 4 feet tall? This is just wrong.

I very much want to question the person who posted this job ad and the society at large:

What do you mean by the word “Broad Minded” “Modern Outlook” and “Outgoing”?? Will you post the same requirement if the job is for a male candidate?

Why on earth a candidate is specified with a minimum height for a Personal Secretary Job? Has it got anything to do with the quality of the job?

Will India never Change?

With these questions, I for now wish to say Good Bye..

See you all in another post..

Love,

Voiceofrm.

Posted on September 17, 2012, in my posts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

