Neutrogena Oil Free Moisture Review

Hi,

This post is going to be about a product I tried from Neutrogena namely, Neutrogena Oil free Moisture.

I have combination, acne prone skin that beaks out at very slight disturbance. I do not apply any moisturizers because; they tend to make my skin break out.  And, if I do not apply any moisturizers, some parts of my facial skin become too dry and patchy. Though not that frustrating like my breakouts, this dry and patchy skin made me feel really uncomfortable especially when I have to wear makeup. I tried products meant for combination skin, I tried using moisturizers only on the problem areas and whatever I tried I ended up either with break outs or with dry skin.

One day, while visiting a nearby shop, I noticed this product from Neutrogena. This product claimed to be designed to cater the needs of combination skin without breaking it out. Being new to the brand, I bought this product. Read on to more about how it fared on my combination & acne prone skin.

About the Brand (taken from their website at

http://www.neutrogena.in/category/customer+care/about+neutrogena.do

Neutrogena Corporation, a member of the Johnson & Johnson family of companies, is headquartered in Los Angeles, California. The #1 Dermatologist recommended skincare brand in the United States, NEUTROGENA® offers some of the world’s most loved beauty and skin care products, manufactured and marketed in over 70 countries.

What it Claims:

Neutrogena Oil-free Moisture for combination skin is clinically proven to normalize combination skin by moisturizing dry areas while controlling shine in oily areas.

Moisturizes dry areas: Lightweight, non-greasy formula moisturizes where skin is dry, without leaving it oily or shiny.

Controls shine in oily areas: Clinically proven oil-absorbing MICROSPONGE system that controls oil and shine in the T Zone for a natural, matte finish all day.

  1. Wont Clog Pores
  2. Alcohol-free
  3. Allergy Tested
  4. Fragrance Free

Dermatologist Note:

Many oil free moisturizers contain moisturizing agents with humectants properties. Humectants increase the water content of skin without adding shine, clogging pores or causing make up to smear, making them ideal for oily skin.

Directions: Use 1 pump and apply all over face and neck. Use morning ad night, alone or under make-up. Avoid contact with eyes.

Price: INR. 299/-

Expiry: 3 years from date of packing.

Ingredients: water, cetyl ethylhexanoate, glycerin, cyclotetrasiloxane, stearyl alcohol, cetyl ricinoleate, cyclopentasiloxane, glyceryl stearate, PEG 100 stearate, Lysine carboxymethyl cysteinate, methyl methacrylate/glycol dimethacrylate crosspolymer, xanthan gum, silica, topopherol, lysine thiazolidine carboxylate, diazolindinly urea, Methyl paraben, Propylparaben, Benzalkoium Chloride.

My Experience:

I am using this product twice a day for almost two weeks now and am quite satisfied with the results.  This product comes in a white pump dispenser type packing and we get a good 118 ml product for the price we pay. One pump of product is more than sufficient to cover your face and neck. I did get two pimples after using this but my skin did not break out as crazily as it always does when I try new stuffs and that’s a huge plus for me.  I wear only light make up on it (concealer and powder) and it wears well. The only thing that bothered me is the “no fragrance” smell. Though not bothering, it has a mild chemical smell that reminds me of my chemistry practicals.

Now summing up its pros and cons:

Pros:

  1. Does not clog pores.
  2. Hypo allergenic.
  3. Does not aggravate break outs.
  4. Makes my skin look even toned and healthy.
  5. Hygienic packing.
  6. Wears well under makeup.
  7. Non Greasy.
  8. Price does not hurt.
  9. Expiry is THREE years from date of manufacture.

Cons:

  1. Has a mild chemicalish smell.
  2. It says “Alcohol-free” but has Stearyl Alcohol mentioned in its ingredients list.
  3. Makes my face feel sweaty immediately after applying it.
  4. Contains Parabens.
  5. Does not contain SPF.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Verdict: A budget buy that does what it Claims. Highly recommended.

See you all in another post.

Love,

Voiceofrm.

Posted on October 1, 2012, in my posts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

